This blog was created 18 months ago, and it has come so far.  I have come so far.  In the past 18 months, I have changed and grown more than I can even imagine.  This blog has been a part in that, so for our 99th post, I only thought it appropriate to let you into parts of my life where I have personally grown.  The titles of the three seasons of this blog are good ways to describe how the past 18 months has gone, even though that wasn’t my intention in titling them as such.  Therefore, I decided to base the title of this post from the three seasons of this blog.  Without further ado, I present to you post 99: Beginnings, Changes, Revival.

Beginnings

Around the time this blog began, I was excited for new beginnings.  A school year had just ended, and I was expectantly waiting for the start of a new school year which would be so different from the last.  I was going in deeper into my community.  I was learning more about myself.  It was a new start almost.  These same people who were with me for two years already would still know me as the same person, but I was ready to truly grow.  Not only grow, but to help others grow.  I was beginning to learn so much more, and my relationship with God began to expand so much.

From reading a blog from two extremely close friends of mine, I was inspired to start this blog.  I am not a confident person, and in deep conversations, I rarely verbally participate due to my rather passive personality.  While I may almost always have thoughts, I am not willing to interject them into conversation because of a quieter part of my personality.  This lack of assertiveness sometimes would get me down because sometimes, I feel like nothing more than a background figure in these conversations.  I want to include my thoughts, but I was always afraid.  This blog was a way to get to share my thoughts on topics with all of you readers while hearing your thoughts too.  This blog is to be a safe space of open dialogue between all of us as everyday people.  A place where I could share my personal experience and thoughts with you in hopes to get you thinking and start conversations.  A place where you can share your thoughts and talk about things you want to talk about.  A place where we could feel encouraged and convicted together.  This is Gracia Del Rey.

“And suddenly you know… it’s time to start something new and trust the magic of new beginnings.” –Meister Eckhart

Changes

This was a time in my life which intersects the other two blog post seasons.  This was a period of change in my life.  It started in Beginnings where my insecurity was really starting to rise a lot, and it continued off-and-on even during Revival.  This was a period where I was truly beginning to think about what was going on in my life and desiring to take a stand to change it.  Too many times in my life have I decided to stay down where intense insecurity, self-worth issues, and self-image issues began to sneak into my life.  Too often did I decided that my problems would destroy and define me.  It was something ruling my life.  But no longer would I permit this to continue.  Changes was a time in my life where I was beginning to implement differences in my life in order to truly grow.  This took many forms, and it was beneficial even though it was uncomfortable.  Changes included discipling someone, being discipled by someone, studying Scripture on my own more, journaling more, being more involved in community, letting people into my life (vulnerability), being more intentional with others, and so much more.  This period of changes really caused me to challenge who I was in the best way possible which allowed for Revival.

“Don’t be afraid of change.  You might lose something good, but you’ll gain something better.” –Unknown

Revival

The revival in my life probably didn’t start for a few weeks into Revival as I was still going through the changes.  Let me debunk the myth now.  Change can actually be a good thing.  It truly can be if you let it.  Change is scary, and you do not know the outcome, but give it a chance.  Try to make those hard decisions in your life because it truly helps you to grow.  You are making changes to actively grow closer to Christ.  I have grown so much in the past 18 months, and that is 100% due to Christ.  I have learned, so much that wouldn’t be possible if not for all that He has done in my life.  The new beginnings weren’t all completely successful, but the revival in my life couldn’t have gone better.  I understand things now that I didn’t understand before, and there is a great beauty in that.  God shows us so much in our lives that we ought to share with people.  We can grow from sharing with each other our lives. Our testimonies are a way to worship God.  We cannot discount all that God has done for us.  You are who you are because of Christ.  This is mi renacimiento; this is my revival.  And it isn’t over.  I’m still growing.  I am still changing.  God is not done with me, and I will continue to serve him.

“Revival awakens in our heart an increased awareness of the presence of God, a new love for God, a new hatred for sin, and a hunger for His Word.” –Deh Fehsenfeld Jr.

A New Chapter

What now?  Well, I don’t know what is going to happen in the future.  No matter what happens in my life God is sovereign.  Same with you.  We are finite beings who cannot comprehend the grand majesty of an infinite God.  We simply can’t.  What we can do is live our lives for Him.  You have talents and gifts that are so important to God.  Use them for His glory.  Do what you can to the best of your ability for Him.  Use your passions for Him.  Love more than you could ever imagine doing.  Challenge cultural norms.  Stay in Scripture.  Be yourself; be unique because you offer something different to the table that no one else can offer in quite the same way.  Never forget who you are in Christ.  Endure through struggles.  And do it all in the name of Christ.

“Isn’t it funny how day by day nothing changes, but when you look back everything is different.” –C.S. Lewis

 

 

 

